Filipino food…TO DIE FOR!

Happy Friday! You’re about to hear a tale of delicious food. A tale of new beginnings and forgotten dreams. A tale…OF MURDER! It all began last Wednesday at Lamesa, a Filipino restaurant at Queen and Bathurst.

DSCF0352

Carloish, (say it in an Eastern European accent) had been saying for months we had to try their “Crispy Pata”, and since it’s half price on Wednesdays I agreed. I had no idea that it wasn’t Crispy Pata Carla wanted…she was serving up a hot little dish of CRISPY MURDER!

DSCF0351
The evening began innocently enough. We sat down and ordered a couple drinks. Being the man of the world that I am, I opted for a San Miguel beer – Phillipines finest. It came in a delightful stubby little bottle. Carla ordered a cocktail called “Tita baby”, which in English means “murderer”. I had a sip and it was delicious!

Now Lamesa operates with a tapas (that’s Australian for “sharing”) style menu so we got a few things, and here they be:

DSCF0363

Halo Halo Sisig and Rice – a mixture of chopped chicken, beef, pork, chilies and garlic topped with an egg. Served with garlic rice. Carla’s been eating this all her life. It made me want to steal her life…like she was about to try and steal mine…

DSCF0367Crispy Pata – the reason we went in the first place. Basically the shin of a pig deep fried and served with a few different sauces. Anacarlonda had really talked it up so my expectations were as high as poor David. It did not disappoint. So Crispy. So Pata. So deep fried and delicious.

DSCF0359-EditFilipino Poutine – And now we arrive at the murdery portion of the menu. French fries with bits of pork smothered in a delicious murder sauce. Carla was taking photos of the Halo Halo Sisig while I stuffed my face with the poutine. Here is the conversation that then took place:

E: “This is so good!”
C: “I know right?”
E: “What kind of meat is this?”
C: “It’s pork.”
E: “Ah…and what’s the sauce?”
C: “It’s called bagoong, it’s basically made from…(Carla’s eyes go wide…) SHRIMP! SPIT IT OUT!”

For those who don’t know I’m allergic to shellfish. How allergic? No idea…I got tested as a kid and have never really tried it. But let me just say this, I am missing out because it was delicious! After a few nervous moments and some water chugging we realized I was fine. But I did make this face to the waitress at one point. So despite everything I just wrote Carla is not a murderer. The most disappointing part was not getting to eat any more of that poutine because holy geez it was good.

Score time:
Drinks: 8 plastic bags full of soda out of 10
App’s (Halo Halo and Murder’tine): 25 years to life out of 30
Main (Crispy Pata): 17 heart attacks out of 22

Well done Lamesa. If you actually had been my last meal I wouldn’t have been disappointed and the score shows it, 50/62.

Enjoy your Priday ebryone! And here’s a bideo por all the ‘Pinos out dere! Shout out to Teny.

11 comments

  1. kvidzzz · August 1, 2014

    Would like to try some day ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Foot Long Hot Blog · August 1, 2014

      You definitely should. But get allergy tested before you go, or make sure you bring someone who doesn’t want to murder you.

      Like

  2. tabularin0a · August 1, 2014

    San Miguel Beer and Crispy Pata – a very deadly combination too

    Liked by 1 person

    • Foot Long Hot Blog · August 1, 2014

      First time I’d ever tried San Miguel but definitely won’t be the last. Love the bottle too.

      Like

  3. SamTeny · August 1, 2014

    This is the best food blog I ever read!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. John Michael · August 1, 2014

    That pata is oozing fat from its crevices. Had everything for a good Filipino meal except for the appetizers to top all appetizers… BALUT!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Foot Long Hot Blog · August 1, 2014

      No. Never. Never ever ever.

      Like

    • Foot Long Hot Blog · August 2, 2014

      If that ever happens, I hope that you’ll be taking that for us and we’ll review it based on your reaction. Although Carla is definitely still scared of birds so there won’t be any photography.

      Like

  5. Mark Anthony · August 5, 2014

    of course carla would forget bagoong is shrimp LOL! glad you didn’t get murdered in that process though! loved the read for this one 🙂 keep it up guys!

    Like

    • Foot Long Hot Blog · August 5, 2014

      I am notorious for having terrible memory, so I wouldn’t be surprised if one day I actually kill Eric by feeding him shrimp. Thanks for reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

