Red Meat in Red Lake

So for the second time in two posts…we’d like to offer our apologies. We missed our Friday time-slot yet again. So we’ll be doing two posts this week to make up for lost time. The reason for our tardyness? Carla and I were sent on a fairly last minute project for work to the very beautiful Red Lake, Ontario. So we decided while we’re there…why not do an FLHB post on the top ranked restaurant in Red Lake – Antonio’s.

Red Lake is a small gooooooooooooold mining town of about 5,000 people in Northern Ontario. Their chief imports are small Filipino girls that fuel the local economy with their food intake. Their chief exports are small Filipino girls that decimate the local moose population with their food intake.

Speaking of moose here’s a fun little story. Our cab driver upon arrival was a local named Glen. Glen was fantastic in so many ways. I expressed to him my hopes of seeing some local wildlife. So as we approached our hotel Glen says “oh there’s a moose up here on the right!” I didn’t see anything. He then pointed at a giant red moose-shaped stain on the side of the road. Apparently a moose had been struck and killed by a truck the night before. Thanks Glen.

Onto the food:

IMG_1341_2

We got these as a little appy pappy for the table. They did them Buffalo style which as we all know is the kinkiest wing sauce. They served them as the full wing which has never been my favorite since I can barely tie my shoes let alone deconstruct a bird’s arm. But Carla and I agreed they were cooked well, nice and juicy, the sauce was good, but they could have been a little crispier.

IMG_1343_2

If you’ve read the blog before you know that the Carlaken loves Calamari. If you’ve got it on your menu, she’s going to cram it in her face. So we of course ordered some as another snappy lil’ appy for the table. It was a great call. Deep fried to perfection and served with a…sauce…of some sort…it was orange…anyways, it was good enough for Carla to gasp between bites “this is in the top three best Calamari’s I’ve ever had!” High praise from Snarls!

IMG_1349_2

Now Red Lake is a mining town (I saw a t-shirt that read “Real miners sink shaft”). Which also means it’s a town full of guys (and probably most girls) that can kick my ass. So I needed to regain some masculinity by ordering some red-ass meat. What up Filet Mignon?! A nice thick steak smothered in a garlicy-oniony-fruity gravy. Served with a caesar salad, mashed potatoes and a side of dignity I took this bad boy to tummy town then didn’t return its calls.

Carla being less manly than me ordered the chicken breast stuffed with cheese. She regrets it. I mean it wasn’t bad, but kind of dry and overcooked. And what killed her the most was watching two of the other members of our trip devouring their baby-back ribs across the table. If I had ordered them she would have just slapped me, took my plate and made me sit in the corner, but I guess with present company she was a little more polite. Hindsight is 20/20 Carla, next time don’t be dumb – get the ribs.

Score time:

Wings: 14 perverted bison out of 18
Calamari: 17 Release the Carla’s out of 19
Filet Mignon: 22 Derek Mumford’s out of 28
Stuffed Chicken: 17 baby-back regrets out of 27

I’m tired, who’s got a calculatrice? Ok by my count Antonio’s gets a respectable 70/92, and the town of Red Lake gets a 5 out of 5 for hospitality and moose stains. Tune in again Friday when Carla and I try and get back on schedule. Happy Wednesday everyone!

4 comments

  1. Lisa · October 31, 2014

    Wings are my favorite. Especially, when they’re crispy. Great pics!

    Like

    • Foot Long Hot Blog · October 31, 2014

      Lisa I would have to say wings are in my top two favorite foods as well. As for Carla, her favorite food is any food.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lisa · November 1, 2014

        Haha! 🙂

        Like

  2. John Michael · December 19, 2014

    Shoulda had some moose meat

    Like

Leave a Reply

